Web-based access, pricing? How to remove all sample data ...

Hi there -

My understanding is that Gibbon is free, and would work online (meaning that, as an admin I can access and setup or similar tasks from anywhere). However, if I want to store school info in Gibbon’s cloud, then I must pay.

My installation has been completed, but I am now told that for Gibbon to function online, we must pay. Also that there is no way I can remove all the sample data - I must manually remove each item myself (as in, each name/student/staff and such).

I was not given this impression by someone who helped code Gibbon at their school in Macau, nor do I see anything like this on Gibbon’s information pages.

Please let me know if we can run Gibbon online (with web based access for all involved - admin, teachers, students, parents) for free or not … and if there’s a way to remove all of the sample data, or at least the populated staff/teachers/students data.

If a pricing structure is somewhere in the Gibbon information site, please share the direct link?

TIA

Hello,

Gibbon is indeed completely free to use, as it is open source. The only proviso is that you have a server, or access to a hosted server. In short, we provide the software, you install it on a server, and then you are up and running.

If you don’t have access to a server, we can host for you. This does require payment, but again, it is not payment for the software, just for the server. Email us on support@gibbonedu.org if you’d like a quote for hosting.

In terms of the demo data, you are correct, there is no easy way to install it. It is provided for testing the system only. For a production (e.g. real) install, the best thing is to not include the demo data. Does this cause issues for you? Perhaps you’ve already loaded a bunch of our data alongside the demo data? Hopefully not!

Thanks,

Ross

Hi, Ross -

Thank you for the information!