V25, Error importing Data in Custom Fields

Hello All,

I am using Gibbon from sometime.Being a beginner I am facing a problem which I unable to resolve . I need help in importing files for Custom field created , by Following the thread comments in the community , I still got no luck.If any one can help to resolve the problem , it would be great.Thanks in advance.
I am attaching screenshots of my screen -Error report while importing .
I am using version 25 Gibbon.

Regards
Om Verma

Hi Om Verma, my apologies for the wait to recieve support, it’s been a hectic time at my school, as I’m also a teacher on top of maintaining Gibbon :sweat_smile:

I’ve had a look at your screenshot, which is helpful to identify the issue, thanks for sharing it. The gibbonPersonID field is a very special database ID used by the system. It looks like you’ve provided a username for this field, rather than a valid gibbonPersonID, which is why Gibbon is giving and error. Gibbon can accept usernames, but it depends on the setup of the import time. If you can share your YML file, I can likely suggest changes to help make this work.

It also looks like Gibbon is attempting to do an INSERT action which is likely not your intent to create new users. Be sure to select Update Only from the import page when configuring your import.

Dear Sandra,
I, too am using v25, and am having difficulty importing Data into Custom Fields. I am struggling to customize Gibbon for our institution. Working with one of the administrators, I imported a large spreadsheet of student data. (I foolishly imported data for almost 2,000 students, instead of a small sample!) This data does show up under User Admin > Manage Users.
I then managed to import some Custom Fields which show up at the top of System Admin > Custom Fields as User Fields and also in System Admin > Import from File as shown in this screenshot: