Timetable newbie to do rotating 7 day cycle

Hello everyone, I am a newbie on the timetable. May I ask how will you be able to create a time table like this (7 day schedule with Monday to Friday)? I’m trying to recreate this time table from our paid SIS to Gibbon. Your help is extremely appreciated. Thanks.

Vincent,

Good question. Gibbon’s TT system is flexible, but a bit complex to start with. This help page should help, but I’ll give a specific answer here too. The first thing I notice is that whilst you have 7 days in your timetable, almost all of them follow the same timing, except Days 5 and 6, which seem to be shorter and long.

To get started, go to Admin > Timetable Admin in the main menu and Manage Columns in the module menu. Add the following columns. Columns are day/timing templates, that we then use repeatedly to build a timetable

• Normal Day
  • Short Day
  • Long Day
Edit each of these columns to add in the relevant time slots for the day (e.g. Period 1, Period 2, Break 1, etc).

Once your columns are ready, go to Manage Timetables and create a new timetable. Edit it, and create the following days, connecting the day to the column shown in brackets:

1. Day 1 (Normal Day)
  2. Day 2 (Normal Day)
  3. Day 3 (Normal Day)
  4. Day 4 (Normal Day)
  5. Day 5 (Long Day)
  6. Day 6 (Short Day)
  7. Day 7 (Normal Day)

Each day will now have the timings defined in the column it is associated with. You can now go into each of the time slot in each day and add the relevant classes (which you should predefine in Manage Courses & Classes).

The final step is to Tie Days To Dates, in which you say on which days your Day 1 falls throughout your year, and then the same for Day 2, etc.

There is a function to import classes, teachers and rooming once your structure is in place. In addition, check out @skuipers Data Admin module at https://gibbonedu.org/extend, which I believe does timetable imports too.

Hope this helps!

Ross

1 Like