Students cannot submit homework

Hi everyone,

First of all kudo’s to the developers of Gibbon - absolutely great work!

When setting up homework (online submission, required) as a teacher, I can see upcoming deadlines, so it all seems fine.

But student do not get the option to submit their work anywhere. I’ve spent hours meddling with settings, but nothing seems to work. When I view as a student, no luck; when I login as a student for that class, no luck either. For students, no upcoming deadlines are shown either.

I’m on v.22.0.00
Any help would be much appreciated.

All best,
Theo

Hi Theo,

Thanks for your kind words regarding Gibbon : ) It’s lovely to know that you are enjoying it.

If you are adding or editing a lesson plan, after you enable Homework, you can enable Online Submission, which allows students to submit their work via Gibbon. There are a range of settings under this option:

Hopefully this helps!

Ross

Thank you Ross, even quick in responding during the holidays.

I know those options and I ticked them countless times. It used to work, but doesn’t anymore. I thought, maybe a hickup in the brandnew version 22?

Anyway, I have gone from bad to worse today. My (self hosted) install has crashed terribly. It has never happened before. Slowly, allmost all of my menu’s disappeard - it seems like something is eating my tables! This is a thing beyond Gibbon for sure, so I won’t bother you with it.

I’ll rule out virusses and hacks first and will do a fresh install. I’ve got all the csv’s, so should be back in business soon. I’m still in trial mode for the new semester so nothing valuable is lost.

All best!
Theo

Hi Theo,

I’ve just had a test in v22, with a student login, and can see the homework submission as expected:

Is your student not seeing the homework section at all?

Thanks,

Ross

Hi Ross,