Semester / year average

Hello,

I’ma trying to set up your brilliant system for university (a bit different academic rules than Gibbon was designed for - I know). I would like to know if there is a way to have a year marks average counted for each student? I have already set up courses and classes, teachers use markbook to put marks within their own class (sunject tought) during each semester, and then - after each semester / year - their put their class (subject) final mark for each student via Internal Assessment. So, as a university admin I have each student having several marks after each semester / year (one final mark from each subject). And now I would like to get each student yearly average - is it possible to do it with the help of query builder? Or export all Internal Assessments to Excel, and then use excel formulas? Please let me know what do you think, I’d be happy to buy the Expert Support as Gibbon is going to be part of my everyday work :slight_smile:

Hi Łukasz, great to hear you’re using Gibbon for your organization and thank you for your kind words :smiley:

Yes, this is something that can be done with Query Builder, as long as the final marks are not weighted it can calculate the averages. You could also alternatively use Query Builder to extract the Internal Assessment values to an excel sheet and work with them from there. The value added license for Query Builder includes several useful queries, one of which is “Internal Assessment Results In The Specified Year”. We’d be happy to add a modified version of this to export marks by semester as well.

Here is an example of a query that can give you averages for internal assessment grades per year (it uses one variable called schoolYear which would need to be added via the Query Builder interface or replaced with a database ID):

`SELECT 
    gibbonSchoolYear.name as schoolYear,
    gibbonYearGroup.name AS yearGroup, 
    surname, preferredName,