Safari can't open installer :(

Hi everyone ! I’m a newbie with all this.

I have downloaded and installed MAMP >Made the Gibbon folder in hotdocs folder. But when I click on Gibbon I’m getting this error:
Safari can’t open the page “localhost/gibbon/installer/install.php” because the server unexpectedly dropped the connection.

I have spent hours since yesterday trying to find the solution and searching these forums but can’t move on. Please help :frowning:

MAMP? I believe there is very little knowledge in the community using this.

Best chances to get support here is to use a LAMP system. :slight_smile:

MAMP? I believe there is very little knowledge in the community using this.

Best chances to get support here is to use a LAMP system. :slight_smile:

The installation video is of MAMP only :frowning:
But anyways, can i install LAMP on MacOS?

Actually, MAMP is in use in the community for development, so perhaps we can help. LAMP is my preferred choice for server hosting, but as my school uses Mac, I use MAMP locally.

When MAMP is first installed, the HTTP port is set to 8080, in order to avoid clashes with other servers on the system using the well-known port 80. So, you could try:

http://localhost:8080/gibbon/installer/install.php

Or, use MAMP’s Preferences to change the port to 80. The latter is my preferred choice.

Hope this helps!

So i made some progress and i’ll share my findings for others who might be novices like me:

I abandoned the plan of installing on my Mac using MAMP.
I installed XAMP from ApacheFriends site as described in the “Getting Started” guide.
Of course i installed the latest one from the landing page with php 7.4 which is where i got all the problems.
I did try to change the php version to 7.3 initially- doing all sorts of unmentionable things (i still don’t know what php does :stuck_out_tongue: ) . I got so frustrated that i looked up other opesource software.