need help complete installation - submit button gives no response

Mr Ross / Ms Sandra,

Sorry for the silly question. I have done a standard installation on an ubuntu laptop. The Maria DB and php and apache appear to respond perfectly with no errors on routine tests. I get to the 1st default installation page, with all green ticks & a confirmed writable directory. But i cannot progress past the submit button. I get no response. I cannot see any errors in the php access.log and error.log
All firewall settings are off - it is a very vanilla set up with php 7.4.
It is like i have some basic environment variable wrong so the install page cannot load the next pages - i have tried moving the directories changing the installation roots slightly etc, gone through the basic config files.
As i am not a web programmer i cannot seem to see what the submit button is trying to reach - ie in the old days you could where it was trying to post to in basic html - but looking at the code i am not experienced enough to make sense of it.
I am going to try a re-install on small hp server later today at a different location. But i was hoping one of you or your learned colleagues could advise - it must be a common issue.

thanks so much
gregoire

thanks to potential answerers, i have got this working now quite adequately on a HP server by carefully installing everything from scratch and updating ubuntu to the latest verson, so i will not worry about the problem with the laptop installation, which was just a testbed - must be some dependency issue. The documentation really does need to improve - but i see the point that we should contribute ourselves and offer to improve it,rather than complaining !
–gregoire

Hi Gregoire, glad to hear you got it working. We’re just headed into the winter break so our response times are bound to be slower than normal. Yep, documentation is something we would love to improve! :sweat_smile: