Music School Setup

Hello everyone at Gibbon!

I found your software online and I would like to thank you for creating such an amazing system!

I am a music teacher teaching for a music school in the states. My boss, who’s also my friend, wants to move admin stuff online. Currently we schedule our teachers and students by hand on a notebook. We want to move that electronically so my co-worker and I can check our teaching schedule online while our students can do the same. My friend also wants to track these classes electronically so it may generate a report to send invoices to student’s parents. I know a bit of computer stuff and have setup a test server on my own pc. After setting up and playing around with smart workflow, I’m confused in assigning classes and lessons. I read in your documentations about timetable admin and I got even more confused.

To start, I know we need to setup school year which for example I have setup year of 2020. Next, I setup a course(Piano). I have setup 7 days a week with each columns representing each day (within each column, 15 mins slots are added as rows to facilitate some of our lessons are half hour and some are 45 mins). This is the part I’m confused the most. Since I have setup my course, in classes should I create different levels as classes (eg. piano lv1, lv2, lv3…and so on)? And what is the different between classes and lessons as shown in smart workflow? Does my friend and her secretary add lessons within classes as they receive new student bookings?

I saw from another post Gibbon can be integrated with google calender if user logged in with google credentials. Will that ease scheduling for teachers and students, aka just click on the timetable, and add a class/lesson, add teachers/students, click ok and they are scheduled?

Thanks!