CBSE School in India

Hi Ross,

I am new to Gibbon, I have installed it and experimenting it for future use. May I know from your experience, How feasible it is to adopt Gibbon for CBSE schools in India?

Thanks.

Hi @matheen,

Does CBSE stand for Central Board of Secondary Education?

I do not know about CBSE but I can say that with Gibbon’s flexibility, it is very suitable and adaptable for many secondary school systems.

Are there specific questions you have?

Thanks,

Tieku

Thanks for your reply, @tiekubd,

Yes, you are right, it is Central Board of Secondary Education. K-12 Curriculum.

Is it possible to divide the students into classes and each classes having sections?
Continuous and Comprehensive Assessment (CCA) is adopted by CBSE, apart from Formative and summative assessments. Cumulative mark with weightage is taken for final grade percentage. is these features already adoptable in Gibbon?

Thanks.

Hi @matheen,

Is it possible to divide the students into classes and each classes having sections?

Yes Gibbon calls what you are calling classes, courses and sections are called classes. It is possible to rename any of these to suit your purposes.

And yes, Gibbon supports cumulative marks with weightings.

Tieku

Thanks, Tieku, for time being.

I am exploring the features of Gibbon further.

Thanks Again.

Matheen

Hi

A novice question, What is ‘Form Group’ functionality? How it is related to Class and sections of a class in a school? Where do I create classes?

Thanks,

Hi @matheen,

A Form Groups represents a group of students who take a set of courses.
You can create Form Groups via the option Admin > School Admin > Manage Form Groups.

You can create courses and classes via the option Admin > Timetable Admin > Manage Courses & Classes. You must create a course and you will be able to create classes (groups) in the course.