Disable deletion of logged-in user

I made a very embarrassing mistake. I needed to delete all of the users to do a new import. I used the web GUI, pasting in the word DELETE each time, but I got a bit carried away and ended up deleting my own user too. :# I was locked out of the system.

Luckily, I had a backup of the server and I was able to retrieve the gibbonPerson table from the SQL database.

I thought that it might be a good idea if the GUI prevented the currently logged-in user from being deleted. Perhaps simply remove the delete button from the GUI.

Comments

  • Request granted! Awaiting approval by the Gibbon masters.
  • It's certainly an edge case, but fairly easy to prevent. Your approach looks good in your commit, see the PR comment for some tips on how to separate the branches out and PR them against v16 :smiley: thanks!
  • Sorry for the mess!
  • Not to worry, the great thing about git is you can always fix a mess. I took a quick look and wondered if perhaps you were merging separate repo's rather than creating separate branches (there's a PR referenced in there). Do you use command line or a GUI? My personal favorite git GUI is SourceTree, it helps visualize everything but still has the full power of command line git.

    Either way, it's not a huge change set so I'm sure it's fine if they're together.
  • I am new to git in general and I have been closing my eyes and clicking things on GitHub.com hoping something would work!

    Thank you for your kind words!
    sandraadmin
Sign In or Register to comment.